The mission of the West Virginia Board of Respiratory Care is to provide oversight of the licensing of respiratory care practitioners in the State of West Virginia. The Board is responsible for providing guidelines for licensing requirements, renewal of licenses, continuing education requirements and investigation and/or prosecution of license violations.
All Respiratory Therapists must renew their license prior to December 31, 2019. Renewal applications must be postmarked in November to pay at the $55.00 fee. Renewal applications postmarked in December pay at the $65.00 fee. Renewal applications postmarked in January, 2020 will be processed as “reinstatements” at the $200.00 fee.
Respiratory Therapists must take their CEU's prior to September 30, 2020. Reporting information will be mailed to Respiratory Therapists during the last two weeks of October, 2020. CEU's will be reported to the board office along with your 2021 License Renewal Application in the months of November and December, 2020.
The following rules are being proposed by the board to change the language within the Respiratory Care Act. Strikethroughs are language to be removed and underlines are new language. The board will receive comments and/or questions during the comment periods listed below each rule: